First Volunteer Experience…Kinda? Storm Kreutzer

So. I bet you’re reading this thinking of how I’m gonna tell you all about how being a puppeteer is wonderful and great and how I love it so much.

And you’re half right.

See, I haven’t yet gone out to a school for a show. The organization in question, KOTB (Kids on the Block) Regina wanted myself and Anthea to have some experience with handling the puppets and handling the scripts first. So that’s what has generally been going on.

However! There still have been experiences worth talking about. I have had 3 practice sessions thus far, and they’re honestly quite fun. I enjoy manipulating the puppet and utterly embarrassing myself in front of experienced people (feeling harsh judgement the entire time), so it’s honestly been a good experience thus far.

Seriously though, everyone that is there to help us learn how to use the puppets is so helpful and patient. The puppets themselves are interesting creatures: apparently they go for quite a large sum of money to purchase brand-new. At first I was quite apprehensive towards using them, due to the fact that as a college student, a large, unexpected fee is not something I’m exactly keen on paying. However, they’ve all been built to take a beating, so they’ve served well thus far.

Being slow to memorize, I’ve not been too successful at committing the scripts to memory, though I’m hoping that will change soon, as my first show at a school is this coming Thursday. Admittedly it would have been smarter to write this post then, but the point is kind of moot, as I am currently breaking the fourth wall in a blog post telling you about how it would have been smarter to write this blog post at a later date.

But in all seriousness, I have enjoyed the experience thus far, and I expect to be able to say the same and more after my first placement. Have a good day, thanks for reading o7.

 

One thought on “First Volunteer Experience…Kinda? Storm Kreutzer

  1. Storm,

    To be honest I’m a little jealous you get to play with puppets for your volunteer work. Really regret how quickly I scanned the list. But let’s move on, to your point on having to perform with the puppets and “utterly embarrassing myself in front of experienced people”. This is going to be an awesome experience to work on performing and making a fool of yourself in front of people, which as future teachers we all need to work on. Great post, wishing you best of luck in your puppetry debut on Thursday!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment